Please enable JS

360° analysis of a Diamond

While every diamond is unique, all diamonds share certain structural features. A diamond’s anatomy, or its basic structure, determines its proportions, brilliance, dispersion and scintillation.

Each part of the diamond has a specific name, and having a basic understanding of how each part contributes to the diamond as a whole will help you find your perfect diamond.

A diamond is comprised of the eight main components. They are Table, Crown, Girdle, Pavilion, and Culet. Below is a brief description of each part of a diamond and its location.


  • Largest facet of a diamond
  • Always a flat surface
  • Resembles a table top
  • img


  • Extends from the table
  • Ends at the top of the girdle
  • Step or brilliant cut facets
  • img


  • Located at the bottom
  • Bridges the girdle & culet
  • Determines light reflection
  • Quality cuts allow for max light
  • img


  • Smallest facet of a diamond
  • Located at the very bottom tip
  • Used to protect the pavilion
  • Modern methods renders it   unnecessary, but it's still in use
  • img

    Anatomy of 10 popular shapes